Film and animation

I have just finished a course on film and animation and found it challenging but very interesting! It got me looking out for any films that I thought were well done or interesting. I found a few that I thought it was worth putting on my blog for others who find this sort of thing interesting to watch and think about. The first one is the opening credits to the TV series True Blood. It won awards and I think it is so clever. I find the whole idea around the TV series quite interesting, as it looks at how easily vampires could be integrated into human society. The opening credits manage to get across both the clash, and interlinking of; youth, sex, religion, race  and society. Through flash sexual images and a combination of images of religious gatherings and youth you feel a both a sense of revulsion and amazement at humanity.

The next is a short film that came 1st place at Cannes film festival. What i think is so good abut this short film is how much emotion can be created from only 51 second of film.

The film doesn’t let on what it is about until the end which is something i always look for. I like being surprised at the end and I think it is a clever way to keep people engaged and make them remember something later.

The final animation is from an artist called Joanna Quinn. Well known for her incredible illustrations, anyone who hasn’t heard of her (she does the Charmin animations with the bear). This is a long clip so you may not want to watch it all but I just think it has been so cleverly put together. The voices and animation have been carfully picked and I love the mixture of stills and animation.
If you liked this then watch Dreams and desires: Family ties 2006, it is also very very good!

Leave a comment